The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Stronghurst Seats New Board Members

By: Shirley Linder, Quill Editor

At the May 1st, Stronghurst board meeting Mayor Gary Root opened the meeting at 7 p.m. A motion for the minutes of the April meeting and payment of the bills was passed.

At that time the meeting was adjourned and Root shook hands with Brendan Schaley, wished him luck and left the meeting.

Brendan Schaley then call the meeting to order and Morgan Lewis, clerk/treasurer swore him in as mayor. She then proceeded to swear in Mike Bohnenkamp, David Vancil, and Jerry Nortrup. Schaley nominated Shane Reed to fill his vacant trustee seat and upon a nomination and unanimous vote he was sworn in.

Randy Jarvis had been elected in the March election but sent a letter to the board declining to serve due to health reasons. Schaley then nominated Bruce Caldwell to fill this vacancy and the board voted yes, and he was sworn in.

Following the swearing in of all the trustees, Mayor Schaley asked all present to stand and recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chris Cooper of MSA reported 3 bids had been submitted for building of the water tower. Maguire Iron was low bidder at $1, 078,000 and the board voted to accept this bid.

Workforce Development had contacted Ronnie Gittings and asked if the village would be willing to employ Dustin Rankin of Roseville. There is no cost to the village, as Workforce will pay for 30 hours per week. Gittings said Rankin would be mowing and weed eating. Rankin is attending SCC studying auto mechanics, Monday-Friday from 11:5 a.m. to 1:50 p.m.

The police report for April include: 140 hours worked; 957 squad car mileage, 8 traffic stops-6 verbal warnings, 2 written warnings; 16 service calls-4 assist call with county; verbal village ordinance ticket; 1 warrant arrest and 27 business courtesy checks.

In other business the board:

The board entered executive session at 8:30 p.m. for the purpose of employee raises.

Following executive session the board voted to give all employees except Morgan Lewis a 50 cent raise. (Ronnie Gittings, Bryan Bohnenkamp, Jeff Nichols, Lou Ann Nortrup, Danny Moore, and Arbry Vancil).

Present: Gary Root, Brendan Schaley, Mike Bohnenkamp, Shane Reed, Amanda Kane, Jerry Nortrup, David Vancil, Bruce Caldwell, Morgan Lewis, Arbry Vancil, Ronnie Gittings, Bryan Bohnenkamp, Lou Ann Nortrup, Attorney Bill Rasmussen, Chris Cooper-MSA, Robert Manning, Dustin Rankin, Mike Rodeffer, Virginia Ross, Stacey Newberry, Chase Gibb, Emily Schaley, Angela Myers, Randy Jarvis, Shirley Linder.

The next regularly scheduled board meeting will be Monday, June 5th, at 7:00 p.m.