The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Long-Time City Treasurer and Two La Harpe Council Members Resign

by Deb Olson, The Quill

What started as a routine council meeting ended in spectacular fashion with the resignations of long-time City Treasurer Marcia Neff and two council members, Amy Palmer and Josiah Neff.

During the final comments sessions, Marcia Neff stood and read her letter of resignation. Saying "I can no longer perform my duties as Treasurer because I value my health and well-being." As soon as Neff sat down, the other two resignations of Josiah Neff, then Amy Palmer followed, brief and to the point, effective immediately.

Many of the evening's agenda items were tabled until the next meeting to allow City Attorney Diane Diestler to collect further information on the issues including: water and sewer ordinances and associated reports (Ordinance 2015-2); the water and sewer audit; hiring of new full time employee(s); bids for consumables; IEPA compliance commitment letter and cemetery work which needs to be completed.

In other business the council:

In Public Comments:

After the resignations at the end of the New Business section of the meeting, City Clerk Lucretia McPeak suggested the council call a special meeting to deal with the resignations. The scheduled Executive Session was postponed and the meeting was adjourned. The next regular meeting is July 11th at 7 pm at the La Harpe Clubhouse.

Present were: Amy Palmer, Dave Mershon, Marcia Stiller, Kenneth Foster, Josiah Neff, Darrell, Treasurer Marcia Neff, City Clerk Lucretia McPeak and Mayor Ryan Kienast.

Guests were: Tim Graves, Monalisa Graves, Dean Spangler, Attorney Diane Diestler, Justin Livingston, Chad Burt, Paul Anderson, Bev Anderson, Carol Stevens, Todd Stevens, Dan Gillett, Tiffany Foster, Donna Wood, Richard Wood, Dan Carpenter, David Carpenter, Bart Thompson, Deb Oliver, Chad Burt, Larry Hobby, Kevin Wiehardt (WIRC), Megan McNeill, Max Owsley, Linda Shutwell, Bob Shutwell, Dallas Neff, Karlene Kurtz, Eric Moe, Jack (John) Kusek, Jay Lebeck and others.


The Special Meeting is scheduled for Thursday, June 30 at 7 p.m. Agenda items for this meeting include:

A. Application to IEPA for necessary permits.

B. McClure engineering fees.

C. Ordinance No. 2016-6 regarding surplus property (police car).

D. New signatories on city accounts.

E. Appointment of City Treasurer (to replace Marcia Neff who resigned).

F. Appointment of aldermen to fill positions left vacant by resignations of Aldermen Palmer and Neff.

G. IEPA Responsible Operational Personnel - to discuss and/or approve officials to act as Official Custodian and Administrative contact for the La Harpe Waterworks (to which Josiah Neff and Amy Palmer had been appointed).

The next regularly scheduled council meeting is set for Monday, July 11th at 7 p.m. at the La Harpe Clubhouse.