The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

La Harpe Mayor Pro Tem Stiller, Compliments MAPPING Committee for their Good Work

by Christy Kienast, The Quill

The La Harpe City Council met on Monday, March 23, 2015 at La Harpe City Hall.

Clerk Lucretia McPeak, and Treasurer Marcia Neff, along with all Councilmen were present except for Councilman Mike Bennett. Also, Mayor Ken Brown was absent, and Councilman Marsha Stiller was Mayor Pro Tem for the evening.

Stiller complimented the MAPPING group on the great job they have been doing, and she said there have been a lot of favorable comments.

Max Owsley requested that the city pay the $1,488 bill that is now due for the MAPPING meetings that have been going on for the last month and a half. The council approved the motion to pay the $1,488 bill.

Owsley also discussed the Farmers' Market that will be set up on the north side of the La Harpe City Park.

Delinquent water bills were reported due on Tuesday, March 24th. Stiller reported that, if they were not paid by then, their water will be turned off.

Stiller reported that the intersection repair work on South 5th Street has begun. When it is completed, they will continue with Intersection repair work on South G Street.

The City Council is in the process of getting 3 estimates for constructing a roof over the bandstand in the La Harpe City Park. An electrician will be doing some electrical work in the park as well.

A Parade Resolution for the June 6th ALS-Walk-With-Me was approved.

Mayor Ken Brown is working with "Kevin" of WIRC on the housing survey for La Harpe.

The City Council approved to pay for the WCAZ Kids Games for Summerfest, again this year, at a cost of $425.

Clerk Lucretia McPeak, reminded everyone to vote in the Consolidated Election on Tuesday, April 7th.

The next La Harpe City Supervisor's meeting will be held on April 2nd.

The City Wide Clean-Up is May 8th.

The next city council meeting will be Monday, April 13th, 2015 at 7 p.m.

Guests present were: Dan Gillett (La Harpe Representative for Economic Development), Max Owsley, Kenny Foster, Delbert Kreps, Ryan Kienast, and Doug Endress, and Christy Kienast.