The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Stronghurst Village Board Prepares For New Water Tower

by: Shirley Linder, Quill Editor

Nick Wagner of MSA Professional Services attended the regular meeting of the Stronghurst Village Board on Monday, February 2, 2015 to discuss the plans for the new water tower.

He told the board preparation of the Engineering report and design has begun on the new water tower project and the topographic survey and geotechnical investigation (soil borings) has been completed.

The firm is looking to submit their report and plans/specifications to IEPA for permit review by March 1, 2015.

The 150,000 gallon tower will be a pedesphere style, meaning it will have a big ball at the top with a one steel column stem. The current 100 year old water tower is a multi column style.

Members of the board will be meeting later this month to discuss and decide:

MSA will submit the permit application on the village's behalf and the IEPA construction permit should be received by June 1, 2015. At that time then the grant application may be submitted.

The police report for January included: 122.5 hours worked; 8 training hours; 767 squad car mileage; 4 traffic stops; 1 verbal warning; 2 written warnings; 1 traffic ticket; 5 service calls; arrests-1 warrant; 20 business courtesy checks.

A possible ordinance change for garbage drop at the burning area/landfill was discussed. But after, hearing from Village Attorney Bill Rasmussen the pros and cons of changing it they decided to monitor the situation and postpone making any changes at this time.

Clerk Lou Ann Nortrup announced the five candidates that will be on the ballot in April for trustee positions. They include: Debbie Hale; Jim Spiker; Brendan Schaley; Amanda Kane; and Tom Crotts.

Nortrup also announced the spray park did not receive the grant that was applied for.

Present were: Trustees, Tony Anderson (president pro tem), Mike Bohnenkamp, Deb Hale, David Vancil, Betty Waterman (arriving at 7:10 p.m.), Brendan Schaley; Employees, Lou Ann Nortrup, Arbry Vancil, Ronnie Gittings, Mike Nelson, Attorney Bill Rasmussen; Guests, David Knutstrom, Randy Jarvis, Nick Wagner, Shirley Linder.

The meeting adjourned at 8 p.m. until the next regular meeting on Monday, March 2nd, at 7:00 p.m.