The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

La Harpe Community School District #347 School Board News

The Board of Education of La Harpe Community School District #347 held a special meeting on Saturday, September 7, 2013 in the school district library for discussion in regards to the search for a new Superintendent.

In closed meeting, the board held a time of self-evaluation assisted by an Illinois Association of School Boards Field Services Director.

This activity culminated the superintendent search process facilitated by the IASB.

The discussion included introductions, establishing context and expectations for the meeting, defining board member roles and responsibilities, discussion of the board's desired legacy, and consideration of "Board Goals and Agreements".

The board discussed next steps to take, and each member contributed in a summary of the meeting.

The following members were present: Nathan Butler, Pam Campbell, Dustin Detherage, Mark Irish, Bobi James, David Mershon, and Cindy Wear. Supt. Ryan Olson, Reatha Owen, IASB Director, Field Services, and Board Sec. Jeanne Clayton were also in attendance.

To view agendas, news releases and approved minutes, visit the school board section of the La Harpe Eagles website at