The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Biggsville Board

The Biggsville Village Board met in regular session February 1, 2012 with President Bill Ewing presiding and the following present:

Trustees -Travis Pence, Brian Sterett, Renee Sprock, Brian Cochran and Scott Rhinehart, and Jenny Hopkins was absent;

Clerk - Cindy Rhinehart;

Treasurer - Marilyn Simmons

Visitors -Kevin Mortimer, Jerry Weibel, Shane Olson and Amanda Cochran.

At 7:00 p.m.. President Ewing opened the meeting by leading in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Clerk Cindy Rhinehart took roll call. Minutes from the January 19, 2012 special meeting were circulated by Clerk Cindy Rhinehart.


Bill Ewing reported that Bigger Electric gave an estimate of $667.75 for light on the water tower.

Brian Sterett made motion to have Bigger Electric fix lights on water tower, seconded by Brian Cochran. It was approved.

Bill Ewing reported the tentative total figures for the water project:

CD AP $496,173

Grant $640,662

Loan $379,000

The tentative water and sewer bill would start at $44.64 (water) and $2.50/1,000 gal used over the allotted amount and $28.00 (sewer).

Brian Cochran reported on the Rural Water meeting that was held in January 2012 for the residence of Henderson County.

Public Relations

The board is needing to find a contact person to represent the village during the Heritage Trails Days. Maintance

Christmas lights need to be taken down and stored for the off season.

Old Business

Bill Ewing reported that the lease agreement for the coax and antenna for the Fire Protection District was completed and ready to be voted upon.

Brian Sterett made motion to accept contract for the lease of the water tower to the Biggsville Fire Protection District for 25 years for the antenna and coax and Travis Pence seconded. Roll was taken and all present voted in favor of motion.

New Business

Renee Sprock announced that she was submitting her resignation as a Village Trustee to take affect on May 1, 2012 due to moving closer to her place of employment.

Brian Sterett made motion to go into closed session at 7:52 to discuss personnel business, seconded by Travis Pence, and all present voted in favor of motion.

Brian Cochran made motion to increase Shane Olson's salary to $11,000 per year starting with the March, 2012 pay period and seconded by Scott Rhinehart, all present voted in favor of motion.

The Minutes and Treasure's Report were approved, and Bills were approved for payment as presented to the following:.

Marilyn Simmons, Cindy Rhinehart, Bill Ewing, Brian Sterett, Travis Pence, Scott Rhinehart, Brian Cochran, Renee Sprock, Jenny Hopkins, Moriah Woods, Farm King of Monm, Ameren Illinois, Julie, Inc., Seybold Printing, Gibb's Conv Store, Test, Inc., Susie Goff, Kevin Mortimer, Shane Olson, Ameren Illinois, Test, Inc.

The February meeting adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

Cindy Rhinehart,

Village Clerk