The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Attorney Neff Swears In Oquawka's Board Member

Oquawka Village Attorney Mike Neff swore in incumbent Jason Howard for another 4 year term as Trustee during May's regular Oquawka Village board meeting Monday evening.

Jeff Tee and Cory Fullerton who had been elected out of a field of ten candidates to replace Coral Seitz and Jamie Emery, was disqualified after it was brought to the County State's Attorney's attention of issues that prevents them from holding a village office. Both candidates were present and had turned in their resignations with regret. Tee said he was unaware of the stipulation or he wouldn't have run. It was an embarrassment, he said.

Mayor Henshaw called for a special board meeting on Monday, May 16 at 6:00 p.m. where they will appoint two new board members rather than hold a special election that would be costly. The board will also, at that time, discuss employment of a new Marshall in closed session and then will come out in open session to hire a full time City Marshall.

Al Livingston was awarded a plaque as Oquawka's 2010 Citizen of The Year. The meeting adjourned at 8:46 p.m. More details will be published in a later issue.