The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Oquawka and Gladstone Win Sand Valley Tournament

The Sand Valley Baseball Tournament was hosted in Gladstone on June 25th and 26th.

Over one hundred seventy 5-12 year olds participated in the tournament.

Mother nature continued to make it a wet basebal season, however, the "Sand" in Sand Valley truly helped the Gladstone diamond recover quickly allowing the tournament to be completed.

The future looks bright for West Central Baseball as several young athletes impressed the large contingency of fans who turned out to support the tournament.

The coaches and team really appreciated the support of both parents and fans.

The pitching was impressive all weekend and there are definitely some young men who have slugger awards in their future.

There were many congratulations to the Oquawka Little League and the Gladstone PeeWee for being crowned tournament champions.

The Gladstone Baseball Association said they were very appreciative of everyone who assisted with hosting a successful tournament including Earl Seitz, Marty Lafary, Lisa Lafary, Trey Goff, Brandon Brent, Steve Lumbeck, Mark Lumbeck, Josh Bigger, Eric Vancil, Susan Bundy, Laurie Pirtle, Petey Parsons, and Sarah Bigger.

They were very happy and pleased that Mr. & Mrs. Larry Russell who won the 50/50 raffle generously donated their winnings back to Gladstone Baseball.

Oquawka Little League Champions:

Back Row- Coaches: Jay Wetterling, John Martinez, Dopher Thompson;

3rd Row- Colin Ingle, Dylan Tee, Jordan Sells, Zach Vancil, Hunter West, Owen Miller and Patrick McKinney; 2nd Row- Bailey Tucker, Ben Krieger, Chandler Diehl, Kenny Miller, Freemie Shoemaker, Colyn Crane and Dylan Martinez;

Front Row- Jake Sells, (Batboy) Mikhail West and Keaton Blevins

Gladstone Pee Wee Little league 2011 sand valley champs

From Back Row: Coach Tyler Blindt, Colin Hennenfent, Mitchell Brent, Eric Rathbone, Riley Peterson, Nathan Bigger, Matt Bielser, Coach Rodney Brent

Front Row: Matthew Johnson, Tucker Dawson, Dylan Dermer Brett DeWitt and Ethan Bielser.

Not Pictured: Conner Hopkins and Wesley Stewart