The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

New Squad Car In Stronghurst

by: Shirley Linder, Quill Editor

Chief Gary Smith and Michael Bohnenkamp traveled to Indiana and picked up the new black, 2010 Dodge Charger, squad car on October 29th. The old squad car was taken to Burlington, IA on November 1 for removal of all the equipment, which will be put in the new car.

At the regular board meeting held on Monday, November 1st, Bohnenkamp reported the police department had started winter hours which is 25-30 hours per week. He also reported the police department budget is still on track but they need to check on the insurance for the new squad car.

A representative from Waste Management presented the board with a new three year contract with a five year option, which was accepted. In addition to the garbage pick up, recycling, and two clean up days a year, they will also be providing boxes for medical sharps. These boxes are available at city hall.

While not available at this time, in the future they will provide better recycling containers on wheels with lids, as well as container for batteries.

Chief Smith said Boy Scouts and Cub Scouts are delivering a community survey to all houses in Stronghurst and the department has already begun to receive completed surveys.

The deadline for returning the survey is November 15th. (If you haven't received yours yet call 925-1525).

The police department will host a Pizza Party for the scouts, which will include a tour of the new squad car and gun safety video from Project Child Safe.

Smith presented a Vehicle Towing and Impound Ordinance, which the board accepted with the stipulation the towing and impounding be done by an authorized company and not the village.

The Christmas Lighting contest for residents of the village will be held the week December 20th. Judges will be Chief Smith and his officers.

In other business:

Present were: Mayor Eric Chockley; Trustees, Michael Bohnenkamp, Lawrence Neff, Chris Cook, Leota Caldwell, Angela Myers, and David Vancil;

Clerk/Treasurer, Lou Ann Nortrup; Employees, Ronnie Gittings, Mike Nelson, Chief Gary Smith and Arbry Vancil;

Guests, Terry Myers, Curt Eisenmayer, Janet Monville, Clair Palmer, Paul Cook, Bruce Caldwell, Paula Clark, Amanda Kane, and Shirley Linder.

The meeting adjourned at 8:50 p.m. until the next regular meeting on Monday, December 6th at 7 p.m. at City Hall.