The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

La Harpe City Council Seats New Aldermen

The La Harpe City Council met for their regular meeting May 11, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. with all Aldermen present and the board conducted the usual business including "Old Business".

Also present were: Dan Gillett, Connie Kraft, Darrell Kraft, Marcia Stiller, Wayne Humphrey, Willo Shutwell, Daniel Carpenter, Richard Rasmussen, Justin Livingston, and Doug Endres.

The Board approved:

Dedication for the Lincoln Rail will be held on Monday, May 25th in the city park.

Regular meeting with the old canvass adjourned at 7:14 p.m.

Plaques and gifts were given to Derek Helmers, and David Carpenter for going off the city council after several years of dedicated service.

The new canvass was sworn in: Aldermen; Vicki Burford for Ward 1, Darrell Kraft for Ward 2, and Marcia Stiller for Ward 3.

Regular meeting with the new canvass began at 7:20 p.m.

Evan Ford turned in his resignation effective May 25th .There was a motion made to cancel the second council meeting due to the Memorial Day holiday, to have Butler and Associates do the city audit, to approve the parade permit for the Summerfest parade, and to approve a policy to have a sign-in sheet prior to each meeting for citizens attending the meeting if they wished to speak at the meeting.

Regular meeting adjourned at 7:43 p.m., and went into Executive session at 7:45 p.m.

Executive session adjourned at 8:12 p.m., and went back to regular meeting at 8:13 p.m.

Regular meeting adjourned at 8:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Lucretia McPeak, city clerk.

Two Alderman above with Mayor Ken Brown (Center) recognized for their service are Derek Helmers-8 years (left), and David Carpenter-27 years (right). Both will be missed by the council and community. Seated were Marsha Stiller (3rd Ward) and Darrell Kraft (2nd Ward).