The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

La Harpe Community School Holds District #347 Board Meeting

The La Harpe School Board held a regular meeting Tuesday night, December 16th in the school district library.

Board members in attendance were Dan Horton, Cindy Wear, Mark Irish, Ricky Johnson, Pam Campbell, Rex Huston, and Deanna Stambaugh.

Also present were Supt. Jo Campbell, Jeanne Clayton, LEA Rep. Kathy Kendall and visitor Brent Sparrow.

Principal McKeown's report included news of the La Harpe's three school Christmas programs, a Junior High Talent Show, and many other ways La Harpe students and staff were planning to celebrate the holidays.

The sports co-op is bustling with the activities of 5/6 boys' basketball and 5/6 girls' volleyball hosted at Dallas City and 7/8 boys' basketball and 7/8 girls' volleyball at La Harpe. The gymnasiums and buses are seeing a lot of use this time of the year with dual practices and many games at both locations.

For game schedules and photos, school activities and updates, check the website!

In other business, the board adopted the FY2010 Tax Levy, a 403b tax deferred annuity plan, the names of candidates for the Hancock County Hall of Fame, and discussed student safety and vehicle activity on D Street.

The board also approved Randy Shumaker as afternoon Stronghurst Special Ed. Route Driver, Lisa Trout as Assistant 7/8 girls' Volleyball Coach, Marcia Stiller as Substitute Cook and Lawrence Neff's application.

Regularly scheduled LCSD #347 board meetings are held the third Tuesday of each month in the school library at 7:00 p.m.

Agendas and approved La Harpe Board of Education meeting minutes may be easily accessed in the school district section of the La Harpe Eagles website.