The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

La Harpe School Board

La Harpe Community Unit School District #335 and Community School District #347 News

The La Harpe Community Unit School District #335 and La Harpe Community School District #347 school boards held a regular meeting Tuesday night, May 15th, in the school district library.

School board members in attendance were Dan Horton, Ricky Johnson, Nancy Butler, Cindy Wear, Rex Huston, Pam Campbell, Deanna Stambaugh, Barbara Cox, and R.D. Trout.

Also present were Jo Campbell, Pat Deitrich, Ann Logan, and Melissa Sturlic.

The board approved the employment of Ryan Kitch from Avon, as Art teacher, of Denise Brown, Jodelle Eddington, and Peggy Bundy as summer custodians, and of Jason and Carrie Finch and up to four high school students to help on moving days.

The board accepted with regret the resignations of Tammy Hall as a bus driver and Joan Siegworth as elementary secretary.

Tammy and her family will be moving to Texas and Joan is retiring after working for the district for 43 years.

In other business, the board voted to:

Principal Lila McKeown included in her report that the FFA Banquet was held in the gym on April 18th. The cooks provided a very nice meal and several awards were given out to students.

The National Honor Society went to Schaumburg on April 19th for a matinee performance at Medieval Times.

They also sponsored the annual Penny Carnival on April 28th. They raised almost $2000 this year which will be used for Book Scholarships for graduating seniors.

All seniors are eligible and encouraged to apply for the scholarships.

The music students participated in Organizational Contest on April 20th.

A beautifully decorated LaMoine Room at WIU was the setting for the prom.

Julie Anderson and Tanner Smith were crowned Queen and King.

Mrs. Black and Mrs. Brown were the junior sponsors this year.

Post prom was held in the gym.

Several parents worked very hard to provide a special night for the students after prom.

On May 11th and 12th the high school students, with the help of 8th grader Chris Beaver, and 1st grader, Annie Sholl, presented a very good play, "The Shame of Tombstone". Mrs. Cindy Jones and Mrs. Kathy Kendall were the sponsors.

A private tree planting ceremony was held April 20th to honor the memory of 2006 LHS graduate, Jacob Markey.

The tree was purchased by the Student Council as a memorial.

The student council has been busy planning end of the year activities. These activities include dress up days, the annual Mr. LHS Contest, and a cook-out. The Student Council has voted to purchase a "La Harpe High School" sign to be placed in the gym. There will be a place for alumni signatures. A "High School Reunion" is set for May 28th after the American Legion ceremony at the park.

The junior high track team had 16 athletes at the state track meet. Although we did not have any first place finishes this year, we did bring home several medals representing our school very well.

Spring portraits were done on April 27th.

The junior high participated in Organizational Contest on April 28th.

Mr. McKinnon's junior high students amazed the elementary students and many visitors on May 4th with the annual Science Fair in the elementary gym.

Mrs. Mencel's elementary music students presented an outstanding patriotic program in the high school gym. The junior high honors group served lunch to the teachers and staff on May 11th.