The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Biggsville Discusses Water Plans: Hears Of Christmas Lights Winners & Reports

Biggsville Village Board

The board met in regular session with President Dale Allenbaugh presiding.

Biggsville's Christmas light winners for 2006 were:

1st-Daryl and Doreen Forbes.

2nd-Frank and Gloria Jones.

3rd-(Tie) Bob and Sue Onion; and Dick and Renee Goff

President Allenbaugh asked the visitors what goals are to be met prior to completing the application for the grant request for the water project.

Dale Allenbaugh reported that he and John Roegiers had a meeting with Dallas Rural Water. They discussed the following:

1) Tap on fees,

2) Who is responsible for the pipeline between Media and Biggsville?

The contractor is liable for the first year.

At what point does Dallas Rural Water take control of the line?

3) Backflow water to Media for emergency use.

Biggsville will pay for this ability to backflow.

John Roegiers went over all the Environmental Service organizations that are required to file reports of Environmental Compliance.

Copies of all Environmental Compliance's will be sent to Rural Development and WIRC. Roegiers said he has given Ronald Stombaugh seven of the fifteen easements that need to be checked out.

Shannon Duncan requested several items from the village that will be included in the grant application.

Village audit, EPA correspondence, expenses for water project paid by the village. A listing of water customers and water rates.

Duncan said that WIRC needed a public hearing. This public hearing is to inform the residents of the CDAP Fund Assistance.

The meeting will be February 7, 2007 before the regular meeting at 6:45 p.m. in the Biggsville Community Building.

Duncan said that 75% of the easements must be signed before the application deadline of February 20, 2007.

Ronald Stombaugh said he has been working on the seven easements that he has.

Don Burns said he needs the budget for the project.

Minutes of the regular meeting were read by Clerk Frank Jones and were approved as read, as was the Treasurer's report read by Gloria Jones. The bills were also all approved with a roll call vote taken.

Dale Allenbaugh discussed using the remaining water project funds to purchase valves and a hydrant for the old well when not being used for the village water supply.


Lights-Dale Allenbaugh called the telephone and gas companies about adding a utility tax. Dale Allenbaugh assigned Bob Onion to review the street lights and make a recommendation to add or remove lights. Onion will report back at the February meeting.

Streets-Dale Allenbaugh reported the snowplow lights have been fixed.

Water-Dale Allenbaugh reported that Dallas Rural Water will charge Biggsville $2.10 per 1,000 gallons of water.

Water and Sewer-Dale Allenbaugh discussed increasing the rates. This will be discussed later when the village sees how much the power bills will increase.

Public Relations-Dale Allenbaugh discussed the empty trailer that needs to be cleaned up.

Other standing committees of the village board had no specific reports.

Old Business-

Dale Allenbaugh reported the Bundy property hearing is February 9, 2007 in Oquawka.

New Business-

Dale Allenbaugh said he would have the signs made for "S.C. Lindo Field'.

Clerk Frank Jones reported on the April election. The village will need to elect the following: Mayor two-year unexpired term, Trustees (3) for four year terms, and (2) for two year unexpired terms. Contact the clerk for details.

Dale Allenbaugh said he will get the details about adding .03 and .05% to the 2007/08 tax levy.

The meeting adjourned at 9:38 p.m.

President Pro-Tem Dale Allenbaugh presided. In attendance were: Trustees- Jack Brokaw, Marilyn Evans, Gloria Minard, Bob Onion, and Brian Sterett. Treasurer-Gloria Jones. Clerk-Frank Jones.

Visitors-Don Burns of Rural Development, Ronald Stombaugh, Village Attorney, John Roegiers of Missman Stanley & Associates, Shannon Duncan of WIRC, and Dan Gibb (7:20 p.m.).

The next regular meeting will be on Wednesday, February 7, 2007 at 7:00 p.m. at the Biggsville Community Building. Village Minutes were by Frank H. Jones-Village Clerk