The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

La Harpe School Board Hears Principal's Report

The La Harpe Community Unit School District #335 and La Harpe Community School District #347 school boards held a regular meeting Tuesday night, February 20, in the school district library.

Junior High School Principal Lila McKeown reported that two La Harpe senior basketball girls were recognized on January 30th during Senior Night. Playing their last home game were Megan Poulter and Carlie Wear.

The WYSE (Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering) contest was held at Carl Sandburg College in Carthage on February 6th. This year's WYSE team included: Jenna Anderson, Julie Anderson, Shelby Bartlett, Rick Blumer, Jessica Boyle, Claire McKee, Mackenzie Ourth, Lindsey Pollock, Kourtni Reed, Mercedes Seats, Tyler Sharpe, Willo Shutwell, Jennifer Siegworth, and Alyssa Swanson.

Tyler Sharpe placed 2nd in Engineering Graphics and Rick Blumer placed 3rd.

Student Council sponsored several activities during Valentine's Week. They held a King and Queen of Hearts activity where LaShay Rodeffer and Derrick Daudelin were the Queen and King of Hearts.

The Student Council also delivered "Crush" grams. Students bought an Orange Crush for their "crush".

Valentines and suckers were passed out to each student.

The Sweetheart Dance was well attended on February 17th. Kirsten Johnson and Blake Mealey were crowned Queen and King. Attendants were Morgan Mohr, Skyler Pence, Kelsey VanFleet, Dillon Pollock, Ashley Olin, and Michael Lafferty.

The annual JH Spelling bee was held on February 12th. Katie Ryder was the top speller and Seth Pinkston runner-up.

Each student in junior high received a Valentine and sucker from Mrs. McKeown.

February 16th was the annual "Jump Rope for Heart". Miss Hunter organizes this event.

Jason Finch has been selected as the IBCA District Girts' Jr. High "Co-Coach of the Year' in District #6. He will be honored at the 35th Annual Hall of Fame Induction dinner on April 28th at Illinois State University.

Barbara Ramsey has been inducted into National Honor Roll's Outstanding American Teachers.

Mrs. Holtsclaw, Mrs. Sholl, and Mrs. McKeown have been attending meetings at the Regional Office of Education on writing next year's Technology Plan.

Several teachers attended a Behavior Intervention Workshop in Macomb February 9th.

On February's School Improvement Day, the high school teachers went to Carthage to meet with the teachers to discuss textbook issues.

The junior high teachers were introduced to the school website and were instructed on how to access the website and how to write articles for it.

A small amount of time was also spent talking about next year's schedule.

Ms. Long passed out the February edition of the Envoy and mentioned several articles of interest to the board.

The board approved the purchase of the Power School student management program and the Versa Trans transportation program software which will be shared with the other schools in the converged district, reviewed the closed session board minutes and voted for them to remain closed, approved an inter-fund loan from Working Cash to Transportation Fund for $8000, and instructed Superintendent Campbell to proceed with filing the Western Area School Employee Benefits Adoption Agreement that is required for the transition of our current health insurance coverage to employees that remain with the elementary district.

School board members in attendance were: Dan Horton, Ricky Johnson, Mark Irish, Nancy Butler, Cindy Wear, Rex Huston, Pam Campbell, Deanna Stambaugh, and R.D. Trout.

Also present were Jo Campbell, Lila McKeown, Pat Deitrich, Becky Wilhite, Ashley Williams, Justin and Mindy Johnson, Rodney Norris, Tracey Anders, Elaine Long from Carl Sandburg College, and David Thompson of Thompson Insurance Agency in Macomb, and the plan administrator for Western Area School Employee Benefits Trust.

A meeting will be held after school on March 6th to discuss next year in more detail.