The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

La Harpe School Board Highlights

La Harpe School Board, June 20, 2006 highlights with Barbara Cox, Dan Horton, R.D. Trout, Nancy Butler, Ricky Johnson, Cindy Wear, and Mark Irish present. Also: Jo Campbell, Lila McKeown, Pat Deitrich, Elaine Long of Carl Sandburg College, and Steve Hamrick of Midwest Bus Sales.

Ms. Long passed out the June edition of the Envoy and mentioned several articles of interest.

The board Approved/Accepted:

HS Principal Lila McKeown's report: Eighth graders took field trip to Chicago by chartered bus May 23, touring the Museum of Science and Industry and the Adler Planetarium.

The Junior High Class A State Champion Baseball Team was recognized at the high school championships June 2nd.

Sixth, 7th, and 8th grade math books are here from the Illinois Free Textbook Loan Program.

Mr. Doyle has written a summary of the Study Island program used in 6th grade study skills this year. It helps students prepare for the ISAT tests in Reading and Math and helps classroom teachers assess areas where a student is having difficulty.

We received a $1,400 Career and Technical Education Improvement Grant and used it to purchase a digital camera, digital camcorder, two DVD burners, and several DVD+R.

Mr. Mealiff has been awarded the Section 11 IAVAT Teacher of Excellence Award. He will be recognized at the IAVAT Conference on June 22, in Springfield.

On May 31st Joanna Sholl, Suzy Holtsclaw, Denise Brown, Hannah Brown, Brickston Mellinger, and Mrs. McKeown attended a workshop at the ROE in Macomb on Internet safety. Teachers, administrators, parents, and students were introduced to the i-Safe Internet Safety Education Program.

June 5th, ten teachers successfully completed the First Aid/CPR/AED class. The teachers were Tim Lafferty, Jason Finch, Todd Porter, Judy Stevenson, Joanna Sholl, Valeri Ditmer, Cindy Pollock, Cindy Bruns, Brenda Sparrow, and Suzy Holtsclaw.

Ricky Johnson read the Ag report prepared by Paul Mealiff. The 78th Illinois State FFA Convention was held at the Prairie Capitol Convention Center in Springfield. Eight members from La Harpe attended. Anna Ziegler was recognized as one of the members who will receive her American FFA Degree at the National FFA Convention this fall in Indianapolis. Kristen Johnson, Claire McKee, Megan Poulter, Tanieka Rodeffer, and Mariah Myers served on the Usher Corp.

Lacey Pence and Lindsey Pollock were the voting delegates from our chapter. Lacey Pence and Megan Poulter received their State FFA Degrees. Justin Sparrow was unable to attend and receive his State Degree because of illness.

Along with other retiring Agriculture Teachers, Mr. Mealiff was presented with a Certificate of Appreciation for 31 years of dedicated service as an FFA Advisor.

Since we had a 16% increase in membership this past year, our Chapter received the P.R.I.D.E. Award for promotion FFA.

Mr. Mealiff attended the IAVAT Ag Teachers Conference at Springfield June 20-22 where he received the Excellence in Teaching Award from Section XI.

Twenty-six FFA members and guests attended the chapter cook-out on May 25th in the Ag Room. New officers for 2006-07 were installed and everyone enjoyed the burgers, hot dogs, chips, cookies, and soda.

The new officer team met on June 6th to plan summer activities. Those activities include: the Chapter Fun Night at Ft. Madison, Iowa, on June 29th and a pizza party on July 13th in the Ag room.

Eleven students plan to show at the Vo-Ag Fair in Macomb on July 17 and 18.

Also , Lindsey Pollock and Jennifer Siegworth will be attending the State FFA Leadership Camp at Monticello on July 26-29.

The Labor Auction will be held during Summerfest on Wednesday, August 23 at 6:15 p.m. in the city park.