The Hancock-Henderson Quill, Inc.

Make Ready For La Harpe 2006 Summerfest, it begins today

Are you ready for Summerfest?

LaHarpe's Summerfest kicks off tonight with a BBQ Beef supper by the American Legion beginning at 4 p.m., the FFA Labor Auction at 6:15, the Colors presented at 7:00 and at 7:15 Cari Twaddle performs.

Thursday features the La Harpe Fire District Fish Fry, the American Legion tacos, frog jumping contest, the Voices of Bryan and Stylings (Roy Orbison/Blues Brothers).

The celebration will continue into the weekend with even more food and fun on Friday and Saturday August 25-26.

Friday's festivities will begin with the annual First State Bank of Western Illinois's Customer Appreciation Picnic from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. just east of the La Harpe Branch.

The La Harpe Masonic Lodge will be serving their Chicken Supper in the Masonic Lodge starting at 4:30 p.m.

Be sure to eat and get to the basketball court in the park by 6:30 p.m. for the 30th Annual Lions Club Turtle Races.

Friday's entertainment will be The Beck Brothers of the Colchester area starting at 7:30 p.m.

Saturday's full of fun all day long starting bright and early with the Methodist Church Breakfast from 6:30-9:30 a.m. in their church fellowship hall.

The kids (9 & under) will want to be ready to run at 8 a.m. in the One Block Race sponsored by First State Bank of Western Illinois.

The Parade will begin at 10:30 a.m. and will be immediately followed by the placing of the La Harpe Carnegie Public Library Time Capsule.

La Harpe Carnegie Public Library History

The La Harpe Carnegie Public Library was first conceived in May 1904 when a letter was sent to Andrew Carnegie to request funding.

By the end of 1904, word was received of a $5000 donation. Local architect and builder George

Otto designed the building and in August of 1905 they broke ground for it.

On Sept. 25, 1905, the cornerstone was laid with a time capsule inside.

This time capsule was opened 100 years later at a special ceremony during Summerfest 2005.

Asa Bennington was the contractor for the library. It was completed for the cost of $5,530.00. Then in April 1906, the Library held a dedication and this year, 100 years later, a new time capsule will be placed in the cornerstone.

Also at 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, the Golden Rule Club will begin serving Butterfly Pork Chop Sandwiches and Hot Dogs in the park. WCAZ will be hosting their Kid's Games in the park starting at 11:30 a.m. By 4:30 p.m. the Lion's Club will be serving their 30th Annual Pork Chop BBQ Supper in the Masonic Lodge, and at 7:30 p.m.

On Stage Band will wrap up the weekend's entertainment with a bang.

On Stage is the band that has been featured recently at several country dances at the Community Clubhouse. They play a mix of country tunes sure to please.

If you don't already have your Summerfest Button they are available in advance at Time & Chime Jewelry, First State Bank of Western Illinois in La Harpe, La Harpe Senior Citizens, LaHarpe Carnegie Public Library, and Little Brothers in LaHarpe.

They are also available at the hospitality tent each night during the entertainment while supplies last.

The 2006 Summerfest Buttons feature the LaHarpe Carnegie Public Library as they celebrate their 100th Anniversary.

When you purchase a $5 button, you are supporting Summerfest entertainment and as a bonus, you are entered in the drawing for a $50 merchant gift certificate each night of Summerfest - August 23-26.

If you are present at the time of the drawing, the prize doubles to $100! Don't miss this chance to support a great cause, add to your collection, and have a chance to WIN!

The La Harpe Carnegie Public Library Board anticipates the placing of the Time Capsule Saturday following the 10:30 a.m. Summerfest parade. The library was first conceived in 1904 and the cornerstone was laid in September of 2005. It was completed and dedicated in April of 1906-100 years ago. Pictured above are the 2006 La Harpe Carnegie Public Library Board members from left: Martha Gillette, Trustee; Marcella Ketcham, Vice President; Pam Sparrow, President; Joan Mohr, Secretary; Steve Jones, Trustee; Monica Carpenter, Director and Sue Stone, Treasurer.